District of Columbia

Image details

Docomomo US/DC is dedicated to increasing public awareness, appreciation and protection of Modern architecture, landscapes, neighborhoods and sites in Washington D.C. and surrounding areas in Maryland and Virginia. Through education, public programs, documentation and advocacy, Docomomo US/DC works to ensure that the rich legacy of the Modern Movement in the greater Washington, DC area is preserved for future generations. The chapter partners with local and regional organizations, universities and governmental entities to advance its mission.


The founding members of the board are John Burns, Cecille Chen, Jeremiah Huth, Thomas Jester, Clare Kelly, Richard Longstreth, Liz Meitner, Marcus Monroe, Scott Paden, and Michael Shapiro.


Current Board Members

President: Tom Jester

Vice President: Lucy Moore

Secretary: Mike Mitchell

Treasurer: Liz Meitner

Members at Large: 

John Burns

Jennie Gwin

Jeremiah Huth

Marcus Johnson

Clare Kelly

Deane Madsen

Michael Shapiro





Docomomo US/DC

Board of directors

Upcoming and Past Events

District of Columbia Sites